Saturday 9: Heat of the Moment

Saturday 9: The Heat of the Moment (1982)
 
Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) What’s something you did or said “in the heat of the moment?” I can’t think of specifics, but I know I’ve said some shit when I’ve been angry and that kind of got the better of me.

2) Asia’s founder and bass player, John Wetton, passed away in January. One of his bandmates remembered him as a reliable performer who made everyone around him look better. Do you enjoybeing the center of attention? Or would you, like Mr. Wetton, prefer to play a supporting role? I think I’d prefer to play the supporting role, especially when it’s important.

3) Asia is a British band who played their first US concert at Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York. The nearest major city — Ottawa, Canada — is a 90-minute drive from Pottsdam. When you were last in the car for an hour or more? Where were you going? I was coming back from my best friend’s house after taking her to get her driver’s license. Ah, the beauty of coming home from the city in rush-hour traffic.

4) The song refers to disco hot spots, which apparently, by 1982, no one wanted to go to anymore. Let’s make that negative into a positive.Describe your perfect night out with friends. Where would you go? It depends on the friend because different friends prefer different things, and I can have fun anywhere with the right company. I’d go dancing with some, dinner with others, stay in and just hang out with others.

5) In 1982, the year this song was popular, someone laced bottles of Tylenol with cyanide. That’s why we now have tamper-proof caps on many products. Have you used anything in a tamper-proof bottle yet today? Not today, and I don’t expect to.

6) In 1982, Time Magazine’s Person of the Year wasn’t a person at all, it was “the computer.” What do you use your computer for most often? Dicking around on the internet.

7) 1982 also saw the premiere of The Weather Channel. Where do you learn the day’s weather forecast? (Watching the local news on TV, checking your phone, looking out the window …) I check the temperature on my phone, then in the winter, I’ll look out to see how much snow we have, if any.

8) In 1982, Arnold Schwarzenegger’s movie, Conan the Barbarian, was a hit in theaters. When you settle down to watch a movie, is it usually a fantasy, like Conan? Or do you prefer another genre (action, comedy, adventure, romance, drama, classic …) I lean towards drama, sci-fi, and horror, but I can find something I like in just about any genre. Typically, I just grab what’s next on my Netflix list.
9) Random question: What is something you try to avoid? Shitty people.
Leave a Reply

