Booking Through Thursday: Reading

What have you been reading lately?

So I have a reputation for reading like 10 books at a time, and finally, my fiancé convinced me to downsize–sort of. I agreed that as I finished books, I wouldn’t start new ones until I had the stack down to one book, plus any borrowed ones. I’ve got it down to five, not counting my emergency purse book, and they are:

The Lost World. Kind of a letdown compared to Jurassic Park, and to be brutally honest, it feels like a money grab on Michael Crichton’s part. And throwing some middle-school kids into the mix makes it hard for me to suspend disbelief. It’s like when you start involving aliens–it almost always gets dumb.

All Quiet on the Western Front. I read an excerpt in college I really liked, but the book as a whole isn’t as interesting to me as that one passage was. That said, it’s still a good book and a classic that’s worth reading.

The Amber Spyglass. The third of the His Dark Materials trilogy. It’s a really interesting series and it plays with a lot of concepts I really like, but so far, this and the second book just don’t quite measure up to the first.

The Devil in the White City. A serial killer in Chicago in the 1890s. I think I’m just being impatient with this one, because it’s combining everything that went into the World’s Fair with the true story of the murders and I’d rather hear the true-crime aspect than all the business dealings of getting the fair going. I’m hoping it all comes together.

And finally, Jane Austen’s collected novels, currently in the early chapters of Pride & Prejudice. Strangely, I’ve never read it before or even seen a movie adaptation and I’m not far enough in to have much of an opinion, but I will say it’s holding my interest way better than Sense & Sensibility did.

And since it’s been a while, the two I finish so far this year: The Subtle Knife, the second of the His Dark Materials books, and Seraphina, a book my English-teaching godmother told me to check out. It’s a young adult fantasy novel about dragons, but I did quite like it.

Leave a Reply

