Saturday 9: This Is the Way the Bunny Hops

Saturday 9: This Is the Way the Bunny Hops
 
Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.
1) Why do you suppose there are so many songs about Santa Claus, yet very few about the Easter Bunny? I think Christmas in general is just easier to write about. Christmas at this point is associated with so many things that I think you can do a lot with it, and Sant Claus is a person and not a bunny, so that helps.

2) This song was written by The Kiboomers, two early education teachers who are passionate about the power of music to help kids learn. Tell us about a teacher who had an impact on your life. I could pick a few, but I think my college writing professor might be the biggest one. When I went into college, I had no intention of getting an English degree, but I couldn’t ignore the pull of it. The practical writing things and professional advice my classmates and I got was really valuable, and she was so sweet and encouraging. Writing can be hard and writers can be really hard on themselves, and she made me feel like I didn’t suck.

3) Legend has it that the Easter Bunny was introduced to America in the 1700s by German immigrants. These children waited for a magic creature who left colored eggs. Today’s kids dye Easter eggs themselves. When did you most recently color eggs? It’s easily been a few years, probably when I was still living at home–at I’ve been in my apartment for I think five years now, which is insane.
4) The Easter Bunny is usually shown carrying a wicker basket filled with eggs, toys and candy. Is there any wicker in the room you’re in right now? There may be an old little basket in here somewhere, but that’s it.
5) While marshmallow Peeps are manufactured all year around, they are most popular at Easter. Do you prefer the chicks or the bunnies? I don’t love Peeps as much as, well, everyone else I know, for one, and I avoid marshmallow because of the gelatin–I’m a vegetarian. So no preference.

6) A little time in the microwave can do ugly things to a Peep. Have you ever nuked a Peep? I think I have, but the much more fun story is the time my friend Marion and I played with chemicals in photography in high school trying to dissolve Valentine’s Day candies. Those little hearts and indestructible, and that scares me.

7) Would you prefer a hollow or a solid chocolate bunny? I mean, I really don’t need to be eating a solid chocolate bunny and a hollow one is definitely more intimidating, but hollow ones are also a cheap tease, you know? So I guess I have to go with solid, despite my misgivings.

8) A traditional American Easter dinner usually includes glazed ham or roast lamb. Which would you rather have as your main course? I’m a vegetarian, so neither, but if I had to pick, it would be the ham my grandma used to make.

9) Easter is considered the season of rebirth. What makes you feel refreshed or rejuvenated? Sleep, of course, but also time spent outside in warm air and sunshine. Productive creative writing can do it, too, but depending on the subject matter, that can also just be exhausting. I think it’s most refreshing when it comes easily.

Leave a Reply

