Friday 5: Over/Under

  1. What’s a film you consider overrated, and what’s a related or similar film you consider underrated? I’m gonna go with Inside Out for overrated. I liked it and I thought the idea was clever and well-executed, but it just didn’t grab me the way that, say, Up did. I don’t know that I’d go with that for one I consider underrated, though, because people do seem to really love it. I think maybe I’d say Brave was underrated. It was funny with a good story, and I cried at the end, not that crying in movies is rare for me. Up was still better, though.
  2. What’s overrated about the area in which you live, and what’s underrated about it? I think the real-estate market in little Washington, PA, is overrated, in the sense that everything seems overpriced to me. I realize I’m from an area with a lower cost of living, but being in the preliminary stages of looking for a house, there a lot of houses where given their condition and/or size, they seem to be priced too high. And the thing is I can’t figure out why they would be, because even though it’s an area that may be doing better economically than where I’m from, the area isn’t nice enough, especially downtown, to justify it. All of that said, though, it’s an area that does seem to be on its way up–in the past few years since I moved here, and especially in the more recent few, more businesses have been popping up, and I’d say that our food scene is underrated. We’re not gonna have the quality or variety that, say, nearby Pittsburgh has, but you can get really good food here. There are so many places we like to go that it’s not uncommon to not go to a particular one for weeks just because of all the other good options. There’s really good Italian, but then we have Greek and Mediterranean, a couple hibachi places, a few really good, authentic Mexican restaurants, and the new-ish restaurant and pub we’ve been visiting a lot lately. There’s enough independently owned places that we almost never eat at chain restaurants here anymore, unless there’s something specific they have that we want.
  3. Whose talent or skill is overrated, and whose is underrated? I’ve gone off about this before, but I think Lady Gaga, though talented, is vastly overrated, and I think she used dressing weird as a tool to get her more attention to sell more records. I’m not usually that cynical about artists, but there’s something about her that seems inauthentic to me. Musically, I don’t think she has anything to offer that’s any different (or better or worse) than your average pop star, and I think some of her lyrics are downright horrible. And let’s throw Selena Gomez in, too, because if you listen to her live or watch her Carpool Karaoke with James Corden, she can’t sing. Girl owes her music career to autotune and teenage girls who don’t care. All of this was a bit more scathing than I thought it would be. For underrated, I’ll go with my last concert, Jukebox the Ghost. They do this really great, catchy piano-driven pop, and they’ve been drawing a lot of Queen comparisons lately for their vocal harmonies. I’ve been compiling playlists for what I want to play at my wedding in August, and they keep ending up on it often enough that I’m probably gonna have to pare that down. Plus their pianist is super talented. He released an album of all piano improvisations, they took one of Jukebox the Ghost’s albums and did piano covers of every single song, and he did a cool, fun Facebook Live video of piano improv.
  4. What item in the supermarket is overrated, and what’s underrated? Avocado is overrated. I don’t get why people love it so much. It’s bland. That said, I’m gonna totally contradict myself here and say tofu is underrated, but tofu will take on other flavors and can be thrown into a lot of things. I’m a big fan of it in stir fry, and I think Asian food in general uses it really well. I eat a lot of pad thai, and I love tofu in that, too. To be honest, I think it gets a bad rap not because of its lack of flavor but because it’s used a lot by vegetarians and vegans, and I think even now, people still give those dietary choices such shit that tofu is dismissed as a silly food for non-meat-eaters. Like, if you ever hear people complain about it, pay attention to the context, because I can almost guarantee you it’s gonna be more about making fun of vegetarians than it is about tofu itself.
  5. What’s utterly terrific except for one or two things? I keep thinking of things that I like and that are good but that calling them “utterly terrific” feels a bit much. How about concerts? They’re super fun, but there’s almost always that one douchebag. The prices are sometimes ridiculous, but that all depends on who’s playing at where it is, too. Speaking of that, though, let’s throw in the fact that at one of the outdoor venues here, each ticket is charged a parking fee, which makes sense on one hand so the lot itself is free and they can maintain it, although I use the word “maintain” loosely since it’s gravel and there’s no way the venue doesn’t make enough of off food sales to pay for that shit themselves. But on the other hand, if you’ve got one car full of people with tickets, they’ve essentially all paid for parking.

From here.

Leave a Reply

