New Year’s Resolutions, Only Five Months Late

Yeah, guess who realized she never did her usual post assessing how New Year’s resolutions went?

  • Do no harm, but take no shit. It’s a work in progress–I know I’m not perfect, but I certainly don’t intentionally hurt people. I didn’t have much cause to whip out the “take not shit” bit, but that does still need some work. I can be too much of a pushover sometimes.
  • Eat healthier and cook more. Done, and I found two brands of vegetarian meat replacements that help with this.
  • Get more active–daily walks when weather permits, yoga when it doesn’t. Done, and I took it farther by the end of the year than I’d initially intended by actually getting a gym membership.
  • Plan as much of my wedding as I reasonably can. If I’m honest, I probably could’ve done more, but hey, it’s all details at this point.
  • Save money… It’s a toss-up. Planning a wedding made it tough, but that means…
  • …but invest in myself. Buy those apps for writing, buy things that make me happy. …I did this, and I count throwing a wedding I’ll remember forever as part of this. I’ve been super practical about it for the most part, saving money where I can and choosing certain things based on price, but I’ve also not really hesitated to get the things I really want that will make it fun and memorable for both of us. Wedding aside, I did buy that writing app, and I’ve bought plenty of clothes and books and other things I like, but not so much that it’s excessive.
  • Make more money at writing–sure, I’m doing pretty well with three side jobs bringing in extra income, but I’d like to add more to that. Ideally, I’d add something that pays better than one of the three and phase the one out that pays the least. Done. In 2016, I made enough money on my side writing that I had to claim it on my taxes, which included paying local and state taxes on it. Examiner ended up shutting down, which wasn’t much of a disappointment. I didn’t add a higher-paying one like I wanted, though, although I also never actually found one that I liked.
  • Get a new job. Didn’t happen, but planning a wedding did push it to the very bottom of the to-do list.
  • Get more pieces published. So in 2016, aside from some other unpaid projects I took on, I believe I only had one. But like job hunting, I prioritized wedding planning, so this got pushed aside.
  • Clean more. Eh…if I’m honest, this is probably a no.
  • Get organized, including buying any shelving I need or any other organizational gadgets I have room for and can use. This also counts as investing in myself. Kind of! Definitely not as much as I could have, but we put up a wall-mounted coat rack and mail holder, which helped a lot with not having, well, coats and mail everywhere.
  • Travel. Just a little–Paul and I took a long weekend in State College and Altoona, I went to Philadelphia to see Stevie Nicks, and that’s about it.
  • Continue to be a more proactive friend–don’t be afraid to reach out, make the first move, initiate conversations and plans. Still a work in progress, although perhaps for different reasons than before–it’s now more a matter of having time than anything.
  • Do something that scares the shit out of me in a good way. Could be as simple as a public reading. I did do a reading! I read at my alma mater. I was scared shitless, but it went well.
  • Declutter. Still needs work. I don’t have a problem parting with things and donating or selling them as needed, but I don’t set aside time like I probably should to go through things and organize.
  • Pay off at least one credit card, ideally two. Kind of–I did a balance transfer, which didn’t pay them off but got them all on one interest-free balance, saving me money in the long run and hypothetically making them easier to pay off. The one downside is because it’s such a high balance, my credit score took a hit.
  • Play guitar. Nope.
  • Start private stream-of-counscious journaling again. I’ll be honest, I forget I even wanted to do this.
  • Continue to weed out toxic people, even though at this point that’s mostly just my future mother-in-law. Pray for me, guys. I mean, like I said, there’s not much to do here, although I will say I don’t do things or spend time with people I don’t want to.
  • Continue to spend money on experiences–concerts, travel, whatever. That’s how I spend most of my money anymore, really.
  • Start sending some fucking birthday, anniversary, and Christmas cards, you bitch. BIGGEST FAILURE OF THE YEAR.
  • Use the cork board in the kitchen more. You bought it for reminders and such, and you found some little pins for it. Use them all. Yes! It’s actually pretty full right now. We pin up stuff like cards and things we get, plus I use it to keep track of what bills need paid. It’s also an easy, useful home for address labels and stamps.
  • Enjoy the year! Enjoy the upcoming weddings, enjoy planning my own as much as I can, enjoy the people I have around me. I did! Looked, 2016 sucked a bag of dicks for almost everyone I know, but I did have a good one.
Leave a Reply

