Saturday 9: Lazy Bones

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) This song is about a guy who’d rather nap than do his chores. Are there things you should be doing right now, instead of hanging around the blogosphere, answering these questions? I really need to get back to the company making my wedding invitations.

2) This song mentions a lazy afternoon of fishing. When did you last go fishing? It’s been years–I went vegetarian at about 14 and I’m 27 now, so I’ve obviously not fished in that time. And the few times I did go fishing were probably in my early teens, maybe even earlier and into the preteen years.

3) The lyrics catch our hero sleeping in both the sun and the shade. Do you have a nice, shady place to nap on your front lawn? Or would we catch you lying in the sun? I’ll burn in the sun. I have a little shaded patio at my apartment, but the cement is cracked an uneven, so it’s not the most usable surface.

4) This week’s featured artist, Leon Redbone, is a difficult man to nail down. Over the years he’s claimed to be born in Ontario, and Philadelphia, and even Cyprus. Tell us about a time you got caught in a fib. I honestly don’t know. I don’t really lie to people–it happens on occasion, but it’s really rare, and I don’t know that I’ve ever been caught in anything bigger than a white lie.

5) Mr. Redbone has said that taking himself too seriously would be “the gentle kiss of death.” What’s something that you always take seriously and just can’t joke about? Super serious, horrible things. That said, I think in the right hands, almost anything can be funny–the problem is a lot of people making terrible jokes think they’re more capable at tackling the subject matter than they really are.

6) He has retired from public life, and that includes his Facebook page, which is no longer available. What did you last post to your Facebook page? I believe it was Rolling Stone‘s profile of Al Franken.

7) Leon always wore dark glasses when he performed. Do your sunglasses have gray, green, brown or rose colored lenses? All of the above? Except brown. I don’t think I have brown lenses.

8) Recently Dick Van Dyke performed this song at a charity benefit, aided by his a capella quartet, The Vantastix. Last year, at age 90, he campaigned for Bernie Sanders. So Mr. Van Dyke is certainly not a “lazy bones.” Who’s the most active, energetic person in your life? It might be a tie between me and my fiancé but in two very different ways. He’s more active in the sense that he does a lot–he goes to a tai chi class three times a week and usually sees his friends more often than I do. But I’m more active at home in the sense that he kind of unwinds and lays around more and dicks around on the internet, while I’m constantly doing something. I mean, yeah, I dick around on the internet, but I’m also writing and reading and watching things and working and planning our wedding.

9) Random question: You’re at dinner with friends and someone begins a very long joke with, “Stop me if you’ve heard this before.” You have heard it, many times before. Do you stop him? Or do you just sit through it again? I probably mention I’ve heard it a few times but don’t necessarily stop it, especially if, say, we’re in a group with others who haven’t heard it. If I really, really don’t want to hear it again, though, I probably gently find a way to ask that it not be repeated.

Leave a Reply

