Saturday 9: I Will Never Let You Down

Saturday 9: I Will Never Let You Down (2017)
… because Smellyann recommended Fastball

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) Fastball is a trio from Austin, Texas. Austin is the capital of Texas. When you were in school, did you have to memorize the state capitals? Yep.

2) Have you ever visited your state’s capital? A couple times. My uncle lives in a suburb of Harrisburg, so whenever we’d visit, we’d spend some time in the area and went into the actual capitol building once or twice.

3) Fastball played dates throughout Canada this past spring. When did you last leave the US of A? When I went to Mexico a few years ago.

4) Tony Scalzo is a founding member of Fastball. He’s the singer in the video for this song, and that’s his wife, Jennifer, playing the organizer of the speed-dating event. Have you ever gotten a job because you knew somebody? Yes and no. My first writing job was for the local paper, and my dad had asked–against my wishes–a reporter he knew if they had any openings. They asked for a portfolio, so I submitted one, and I got a job as a stringer, which is sort of a freelance-type job where I wasn’t a full-time employee but was instead paid per article. So while he did know someone, I don’t think they gave it to me for that reason, and the reason I’m so confident in that is that they were pleased with my work, rarely edited it, and offered me a permanent position after I graduated. Unfortunately, they got to me after I’d already accept elsewhere.
5) In this pitch to a perspective lover, he admits he doesn’t have much money. Last time you went to the ATM, how much did you withdraw? I think $20, maybe $40 at most. It was to stop at the farmers market, and I don’t spend a whole lot there.

6) He sings that at times, his mind is hazy. Do you have a good memory for names? I think it’s slipped a little because I feel like I used to be better at that, but that said, I’m still better than a lot of people. Like, I forget the names of people I’ve only met once a long time ago, not someone I just met.

7) Fastball guitarist Miles Zuniga admits that he once had a crush on Carrie Fisher (aka Princess Leia). Tell us about one of your one-sided love affairs, either with a celebrity or someone you knew in real life. I think the best one-sided story I have is this guy I met doing stage crew for a local ballet. I had a pretty solid crush on him and worked up the nerve to ask him to our Christmas dance and he accepted, but he had to fill out a form to go and just kind of…didn’t. I saw him a while later at a free concert and sent him a message on MySpace, because it was that time, and he ignored it. I mean, I was already fairly certain he wasn’t interested as it was, but that really sealed it. And I’m not the type to keep pushing it. I’m marrying someone else next month and don’t have a MySpace anymore, so I feel like I came out on the good end of that.

8) Fastball’s drummer Joey Shuffield is partial to drums from Pork Pie Percussion. This company was started by Bill Detamore, who began making drums as a hobby. Do you have any hobbies that, under the right circumstances, could make you money? Oh, writing, for sure–and I do make money at it. In fact, when I finish this, I’m gonna do an article. And some others, too. I like crafty things, even though I haven’t done one in years, and stuff like that can always be sold. If I played guitar more and developed skill, that could be monetized.

9) The fast ball is the most common pitch in major league baseball. Now that the MLB season is past the halfway mark, how is your baseball team doing? I mean, I don’t pay too much attention to them–it’s the Pittsburgh Pirates, and anyone familiar with baseball knows how that tends to go. I know things were looking up for them the past couple seasons, but it sounds like that’s maybe not really happening this year.

One thought on “Saturday 9: I Will Never Let You Down

  1. I’m a rabid Cub fan, and can report there’s something wrong with our whole division this year. Last year, the Cubs, the Brewers and the Pirates all had stellar records. This year? (Shrug.)

Leave a Reply

