We made our annual trip to the zoo two weeks ago, which I enjoyed as much as I always do, and then we had lunch/dinner at Burgatory. It was a nice, fun day out with the family.

We didn’t do much for the 4th, at least not what one would expect. One day, we’ll host our own cookouts, but for now, with nothing else going on–and partly because I wanted to anyway–we went out to Row House for a screening of Pan’s Labyrinth. I watch it every couple years, it seems, which is about good. As good as it is, it can also be depressing and intense, so it’s not something you want to be watching frequently. But it’s one of the many movies I’ve been wanting to show Paul, so when it popped up in a fantasy theme at Row House, that was my opportunity. And that’s what I love about the fact that Row House shows older movies. You get the theater experience with movies that have long left them. I saw Pan’s Labyrinth when it first came out in theaters, so I’m glad Paul got that.

The movie was great, of course, and I cried at the end, which has happened every time I’ve seen it. I’m not sure about the first time, but the last time I watched it, it was late, I was up watching it alone, and I had a good sob session. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve seen it  enough times now, but I did a good job of not being a total mess leaving the theater.

We walked down the road a bit and found some dinner, spent the evening walking a trail near our apartment, and that was our 4th. It was kind of nice.

Leave a Reply

