Saturday 9: Don’t Stop

Saturday 9: Don’t Stop (1977)… because Country Dew recommended Fleetwood Mac 

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

Fun fact, this was the first Fleetwood Mac song I ever loved, back when it was Bill Clinton’s campaign song.

1) Since we’re not supposed to stop thinking about tomorrow, let’s talk about it: What are your plans for Sunday? Okay, so since I’m doing this the Wednesday after it was initially posted, I should’ve been answering this for this past Sunday. I went to Kennywood for my company picnic. As for this Sunday, there’s been talk of going up to the mountains, but no plans have been set.

2) Fleetwood Mac was formed 50 years ago in London. Fifty years is considered a “golden anniversary.” Do you wear more silver or gold? Easily more silver. I just prefer the look of it so much more. In fact, most of the gold I do have used to be my grandmother’s, and that’s the only reason I kept it.

3) This song is from Rumours, which has sold 40 million copies. Is it in your collection? Please. I have the anniversary three-disk reissue.

4) It was written by keyboardist and vocalist Christine McVie. She was born Christine Perfect, a name that earned her a fair share of teasing when she was a school girl. Do you recall being teased in school? What about? I have vague memories of it in elementary school, but nothing that really stands out. In high school, there was one asshole who just liked to harp on whatever he could, really. I don’t remember many specifics, but I do remember him sitting behind me at a volleyball game once, and he spent the entire fucking game either making fun of me directly or making fun of things he at least assumed I liked. I was pretty miserable at the time, but looking back on it, it was really pathetic on his part.

5) Before Fleetwood Mac, she was in a band called Chicken Shack. If you were to order out for a chicken dinner, which restaurant would you turn to? I’m a vegetarian, so I’d see whose known for the best fake chicken around here. Which surprisingly, I don’t actually frequent speciality vegetarian places, although not because I’m not interested. I just don’t think to, and I can manage to find something I like almost anywhere.

6) Before she could pay all her bills with her music, she supported herself as a window dresser for a London department store. Do you enjoy walking along, just window shopping? Or do you consider “looking with no intention to buy” a waste of time? If there’s zero intention to buy, yeah, I consider it a waste. But taking a look at things and wandering in and maybe making a purchase if it looks interesting? Sure. In fact, I think that’s how you can find some of the coolest places.

7) When she found herself making big money, one of the first things Christine bought was a pair of matching Mercedes for herself and then-husband, John McVie. If you were handed a check for $1 million, what’s the first thing you would do with the money? Buy a house. Like, I’d be so antsy about it that I’d be doing the best I could to look at houses immediately.
8) The other girl in Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks, founded the Soldier’s Angel Foundation. She believes in the healing power of music, and so she’s proud to provide wounded soldiers with iPods already loaded with music. When you listen to music from your phone, MP3 player or iPod, do you use ear buds or headphones? Earbuds because they fit into my purse easily, but I prefer headphones by far. I can’t stand wearing buds for more than, say, my elliptical workout.

9) Random question: Let’s pretend your high school reunion is coming up. Which classmate are you more curious about: the one who was your first date, or the one who was too cool to give you the time of day? My class reunion actually is coming up! It’s in September. 10 years. I am hands down more curious about all the assholes.

Leave a Reply

