Friday 5: Acromony

  1. When were you recently SOL? Probably cleaning out the apartment. We still have over a week to finish doing it, but my father-in-law came over with one of my husband’s brothers today to move furniture and I hadn’t made nearly as much progress cleaning and hauling shit out as I’d hoped.
  2. What was a recent SNAFU? My first day working from home, which was last Friday, I made a few pretty dumb mistakes on a show. I chalk it up to being distracted by getting thrown on a rush job in the middle of it and just not being super attentive to it.
  3. From what social gathering were you most recently AWOL? A couple–my best friend’s brother and his wife did a brunch at a coffee shop in Pittsburgh, which I always enjoy going to, but it was moving day. We did have time to make it out there, but we were exhausted. The other is the family reunion, which we missed for like the third year in a row. This year was potentially moving day and that ended up not being the case, but a friend of my mom’s wanted to get together for lunch, so she opted to do that instead and so the rest of us didn’t go either. And last year, we were deep in wedding planning, and the year before that, we were deep in planning my brother’s wedding.
  4. When has someone reminded you to MYOB? Not recently! Look, I’m nosy as fuck–where I come from, we call it nebby–but I’m not obvious about it. Although one time, my best friend did call me a “neb shit.”
  5. What might get in your way this weekend as you TCB? My body. I completely wore myself out at the apartment last night–my whole lower body aches, and I’m not sure if it was the cleaner I was using in the bathroom or kicking up dust in the whole place or both, but I was sneezing and sniffling a ton. It happens sometimes and normally is fine a little bit later, but I haven’t slept it off yet. It doesn’t feel like it’s turning into a bigger problem, fortunately, just one that’s not going away, and with bad timing–tomorrow is my company picnic at Kennywood, followed by an Erasure concert. At least I took Monday off.

As always, from Friday 5.

One response to “Friday 5: Acromony”

  1. Working from home for what you do seems like a good idea. What a nice idea; I hope it works out. They recently offered us a similar option (at the discretion of supervisors) and it sounds like if I apply, I’ll only get two days per month. Still deciding if I’ll apply. I don’t work well from home, but I work great from cafes.

Leave a comment