Friday 5: Rockit

  1. What’s your favorite instrumental hit song? I can’t think of a hit that’s my favorite, but I have a few I really love. David Bowie in particular has a few–I’m a big fan of “Moss Garden” and “V-2 Schneider,” which isn’t a true instrumental because it does have a lyric, but the majority of the song is. I’m also really into Jherek Bischoff right now, who often works with Amanda Palmer but does a lot of instrumental solo work.
  2. What’s a good movie with rockets in in it? Again, can’t think of one that really stands out.
  3. In 1977, Voyager I took off on its very long journey, loaded with two golden records containing sounds meant “to portray the diversity of life and culture on Earth, and are intended for any intelligent extraterrestrial life form, or for future humans, who may find them,” according to Wikipedia.  The contents were chosen by a committee chaired by Carl Sagan, but if Dr. Sagan called you today (you know, from beyond) and said there was room for ten more minutes of music and he was letting you choose it, what would you fill the ten minutes with? First, I’d be thrilled to be asked, then I’d agonize over what to include. I mean, you’re trying to pick a great representation of music, and the original choices were pretty solid. As much as my instinct is to go for more underground music, I think you almost have to pick something that has some cultural significance, so maybe The Beatles or Elvis. Queen, Elton John, David Bowie. I hate to do it, but you should probably throw a pop star on there–maybe Madonna.
  4. What’s something you know about constellations? They’re cool-looking.
  5. When did you last spend time in a rocking chair? I can’t think of a specific, but probably at someone’s house. Maybe my parents’ before they got all new living-room furniture and still had a rocker.

As always, from Friday 5.

Leave a comment