Friday 5: Scattergories

The letter I got was “M.”

  1. What’s a movie you love whose title begins with the letter? “Mad Max: Fury Road.” A lot of woman I know kind of dismiss it a your run-of-the-mill action movie, but I’m all, “Fuck yeah, feminism in a dystopia!” Which explains a lot of my viewing habits lately, actually. I’m looking at you, “Handmaid’s Tale.”
  2. What’s a popular tourist destination whose name begins with the letter? Myrtle Beach.
  3. What’s something you do, whose name begins with the letter, when you’re very happy? I got nothin’.
  4. What’s a frightening animal whose name begins with the letter? I don’t know. I think I like all the “M” animals, although if there’s a reptile or bug that starts with it, there’s your answer.
  5. Who’s a person you admire whose name begins with the letter? Mom! Okay, that’s not her name, but that is her title, and I’m sticking with it. I think I’m realizing just how similar she and I are as I get older, and it’s hard to tell what’s been learned and what’s just genetic–but either way, she’s been a great role model, and I have started to attribute a lot to her. My husband had a stay-at-home mom while my mom worked, and while I’m not saying one is better than the other, I think I gained a lot from her example that I might not have if she had been a homemaker. She works hard, she takes no shit, she’s funny, she gets shit done, and she hasn’t really let anything stand in her way. I mean, she got pregnant in college and graduated early, then became a CPA with two young kids at home. I mean, no wonder I don’t feel like I need to chose between a family and a career. We always got along really well, but we’d clash–our personalities and tempers are very similar–but now that I’m out on my own, it rarely happens. I say more and more now that one of the great things about growing up is the way the dynamics with your parents change, and now we just go to concerts and gab. She’s pretty great.

As always, from Friday 5.

One response to “Friday 5: Scattergories”

  1. How about millipede or mealworm? 🙂

Leave a comment