Friday 5: Ante Up

  1. What were you doing before whatever you’re doing now? Baking cookies for my sister-in-law’s bridal shower tomorrow. Which I’m still technically doing, I’m just here while the trays bake.
  2. How do you feel about movie trailers? I enjoy them. I like to see what’s coming out that I can be excited about and then never make it to see in a theater. I work for a closed-captioning company, and I always enjoy the occasions when I get movie trailers.
  3. Where do you stand on appetizers in restaurants? I almost never get them, and I leave it up to who else I’m dining with just because I know I can’t eat that and my meal. So I pick at it a tiny bit and that’s it. But appetizers tend to be some of my favorite foods, especially if if’s something fried.
  4. What’s something you do warm-up exercises for? Pretty much nothing, which is probably terrible.
  5. What preconceived notions do people have about the area in which you live? People still see the Pittsburgh area as a steel town that’s polluted and gross and only cares about football and Primanti’s sandwiches, but we have a lot of great stuff here and there’s a lot more of an arts and culture scene that people expect. We have a ballet, symphony, theater companies, and we get national tours, plus a lot of great touring musicians. There’s a pretty good, interesting food scene, too. Where I live, about 45 minutes away, has a similar reputation, except maybe thought of as having more of a problem with crime and drugs and that there’s not much here, but in the past few years especially, the area’s been having a kind of renaissance. We’ve had a lot of cool businesses pop up, mostly restaurants, but a few wineries/breweries/distilleries, and there’s a lot of stuff for the community like farmers markets and festivals. There was a time where I was talking about wanting to move elsewhere, but we decided we’d like to stick around.

From Friday 5.

2 responses to “Friday 5: Ante Up”

  1. Would you stay for trailers if they were shown after the film, as they once were?

Leave a comment