Friday 5: For Ric and Ben

  1. Where did you go the first time you drove by yourself? Almost definitely my cousins’ house.
  2. Who was the first non-family non-instructor you drove anywhere, and where did you go? It would’ve had to have been friends, but I don’t remember. I was a late bloomer driving-wise and most of the friends I hung out with didn’t live super close, so it’s really unlikely that I was picking people up to go anywhere.
  3. What’s the dumbest thing you’ve done behind the wheel? Driven with alcohol in my system. Not enough that I was a danger–I’m not that dumb and I know my limits–but enough that it was still dumb and that if I would’ve been pulled over, I would’ve at least been nervous.
  4. What’s the nicest drive you’ve ever taken? The drive up to the mountains has some nice parts. You’d think the whole thing would be nice because of the mountains, but the drive up isn’t very impressive, at least depending on which way you go–there’s not much of a view, and when you get up there, most of what you see is hotels and stores, or if you go up the way we do, houses, which are really nice but still don’t give you a great view. It’s when you start heading towards the river and waterfalls that you get the nice nature views. There was also a drive I took once I think to State College that took the back way and not the highways that was really nice.
  5. Who’s the worst driver you know? I’ve had some friends who we all thought we pretty bad, but I haven’t been a passenger with them in years, so who’s to say now? My dad was always bad–kind of careless and a dick. He used to say that the government trusted him to drive a tank so he couldn’t be that bad, and we’d say that was just proof that the government is stupid. But as much as I hate to say this publicly…my husband is. He used to be fine when he drove his parents’ massive 12-passenger van when we were dating, but when he bought a crossover that’s obviously much smaller, he got terrible. I don’t know if it’s a confidence thing or what, but he’s not always attentive, his speed is really inconsistent, he’s overconfident in the snow…I’m amazed he’s never been in an accident.

As always, from Friday 5.

Leave a comment