Friday 5: Obstacle Course

  1. What did you most recently leap over (or past)? It’s a stretch, but we’re always leaping over toys strewn about now.
  2. When were you most recently forced to crawl? I got down on the floor and crawled around a bit with my 9-month-old. I also find myself crawling around our bed frequently to get from one side to the other.
  3. What are you sprinting from? The work week, with Monday off, even. I’m just ready for the weekend.
  4. What has recently required you to step carefully? Those baby toys again! And sort of writing–sometimes, I think that’s how it feels to craft something, and with my goal of submitting (and therefore publishing) more work this year, I’ve spent a lot of time being very particular about word choice.
  5. Where is your next finish line? Speaking of writing, I had a piece I was having a hard time placing, only because of the tone and subject matter–in a light way, not something heavy-hitting. It’s more of a lifestyle piece, and it didn’t fit lit mags, of course, and even the types of websites I had in mind weren’t quite the fit for it (has everyone switched to clickbait listicles or…?). I finally found someone who wants it and just asked for a few small things (pictures and a different title), but I wanted to ask a friend permission for some pictures she took and between that and working full-time and having a kid, the process from discovering the publication to getting those items in place has felt like it’s dragging out, even though it was only over the course of a few days. I aim to finish it up this evening and hope to see it go live as soon as tomorrow, maybe?

As always, from Friday 5.

One response to “Friday 5: Obstacle Course”

  1. Yeah. Writing to satisfy someone else is always a bit of an obstacle course, when it’s not a minefield. I go through this in my job every day, so I feel you!

Leave a comment