Friday 5: Self-Care

  1. What have you done lately for improving or maintaining your mental health? What more would you like to do? I went back to therapy at some point in the last few weeks. I like to go about every six months. That seems to be a good way to keep things in check and cover any major life events or bad habits and things that might be creeping back in, and depending on how that timing works out, I throw in a bonus session right before the holidays. But between getting pregnant and COVID–admittedly a time when I probably needed it most–I kept forgetting to schedule, so by the time I made it back in, it had been like a year and a half since I’d gone. Otherwise, though, I do what I always do–make sure I have some time for the things I enjoy and vent to my husband or a friend when I feel the need. And write, of course.
  2. When did you last eat something specifically because it was good for you? I don’t think there’s anything I eat solely for health benefits, so I’m not really sure when I did it last. But I do try to incorporate avocado for that reason. The thing is I don’t really like it. I think it’s bland and vastly overrated. But if I can work it into a dish, fine.
  3. These days, what are you learning about, and what would you like to learn about next? I’m learning a lot about the business world. My husband is going back to school for an MBA, so I tend to get a rundown of what his reading for class was about. And thanks to a cat with urinary issues two weeks ago, we’ve both been learning about the causes of such issues and how to treat them. I feel like we’re becoming experts on our cat’s pee in particular. I don’t think there’s anything specific I’d like to learn about next, though.
  4. What’s positive about your physical appearance lately? I’m loving my hair. It’s a great bright color, and even though it’s been a few weeks since it was dyed, it’s really lasting nicely.
  5. What will you do this weekend to bring joy into your life and a smile to someone else? It’s kind of a two birds, one stone thing. We’ll be visiting our moms for Mother’s Day. On my side of the family, the original plan was to go to the zoo, but the weather isn’t supposed to be great so I think we’re shifting gears to just takeout at my mom’s. But I’ll enjoy seeing my family, and she’ll enjoy food and gifts and time with both her grandkids.

From Friday 5.

3 responses to “Friday 5: Self-Care”

  1. Your hair does look great. Are you thinking of a similar treatment next time?

    1. We don’t really go in with a plan anymore! So maybe, maybe not.

  2. I also think avocado is overrated on its own. It has to be part of an amazing nachos plate. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a comment