August 6: Make it simple to last your whole life long

  1. What kiddie song do you still like as a grownup? I’m not sure that there is one, but I will say that having a one-year-old, those songs pop up a lot especially in toys, and you tend to hear them over and over again, as countless parents will tell you. But I’m not totally sick of them. Some parents are driven insane by these things; I don’t really care. Oh, wait! I do like songs from The Muppets. I don’t know how much some of them count as kiddie songs, but “Mahna Mahna” is fun, and “Rainbow Connection” is really pretty.
  2. When did a new song most recently get you excited? Based on my most recently liked songs on Facebook, “How Dare You Want More” by Bleachers.
  3. What song were you introduced to via television ad or as background in a movie or TV show? It’s been a while since that happened! It wasn’t background so it doesn’t quite count, but the first time I ever heard “Uptown Funk” was just before it blew up and was performed on The Voice.
  4. Which song’s opening lyric do you especially love? Because I’m listening to Erasure at the moment, the song coming to mind is “Drama!”. The first few lines: “One rule for us/For you another/Do unto yourself as you see fit for your brother/Is that not within your realm of understanding?” But I also have “You Surround Me” in my: “Don’t ever let me take you for granted/You’ve got your finger on the pulse of my soul.”
  5. With which five songs would you begin a weekend-themed playlist?
    Alternate question: With which five songs would you begin a playlist themed for this weekend?
    I’m doing both!
    For a general weekend theme:
    1. “On a Friday” by Blaqk Audio
    2. “Dark Saturday” by Metric
    3. “Saturday Night” by Natalia Kills
    4. “Sunday Girl” by Erasure
    5. “Everyday Is Like Sunday” by Morrissey

    For this weekend:
    1. “Ohio” by Andrew McMahon
    2. “Over the Hills and Far Away” by Led Zeppelin
    3. “Blue Sky” by Allman Brothers Band
    4. “Linus and Lucy” by Vince Guaraldi Trio
    5. “Take Me Home, Country Roads” by John Denver

    We spent a couple days–though not technically the weekend–at Cedar Point in Ohio, which has Snoopy as its mascot, so I tried to pick songs that represent Ohio, travel, and, well, Snoopy.

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment