Friday 5: The Week That Was

  1. What did you do too much of this week? I hesitate to suggest there’s such a thing as too much reading, but I had a book out from the library and was out of renewals, so I finished the last 300-ish pages in two chunks of about 150 pages over two nights. It’s a lot at one time, especially since the subject was Jeffrey Epstein, and it means putting off anything else I might want to do in an evening.
  2. What did you not do enough of this week? I feel like I didn’t spend enough quality time with my kid, but I also feel like I’ll always feel like that.
  3. What surprised you this week? My mother-in-law saying the aforementioned kid needs to eat more meat after my husband told her an anecdote about how if you’re eating, you have to share with him. I’m not sure how her takeaway was that he doesn’t eat meat. He does.
  4. What elated you this week? Anything the aforementioned kid did, especially as he’s making progress with walking unassisted.
  5. What happened this week that’ll lead to something good next week? Well, here’s to hoping–I started counting calories again, after admitting that my high hopes of a regular gym routine are honestly unrealistic. With a one-year-old, a husband in grad school, a full-time job, and whatever we fill our weekends with, the time just isn’t there, so if I want to get in better shape and lose weight, I need to make some dietary changes. I started last weekend, the day after a Deep Creek trip, because I figured started counting calories while you’re on a day trip is futile. While I don’t expect to notice a change after only a week, I am optimistic and glad to be doing it again, honestly, and I hope that this week’s calorie counting and the smarter choices I’ve made as a result lead to a healthier body. I did it leading up to our wedding and did well with it.

From Friday 5.

One response to “Friday 5: The Week That Was”

  1. When I was growing up I was told by many people (teachers, parents, mean people at school) I was reading too much. 🙂 I tended to neglect everything else in favor of a good book.

Leave a comment