Friday 5: Ax + By = C

  1. It’s been said (notably by Divinyls in 1985) there’s a fine line between pleasure and pain. How has this proven true in your life? Concerts. You ever go hard at a show, get really into it, then wake up sore?
  2. Where in your life have you witnessed the fine line between genius and insanity? It’s a tough call. I think some of the creatives I know prioritize their work above almost anything else, which some might see as insanity. I know some think that those of us who write nonfiction being so willing to be very open are insane, plus I’ve certainly had my moments of caring more about telling my truth than how others might feel about it.
  3. Where do you draw the fine line between supporting someone and enabling someone? This came up recently when a friend of mine mentioned someone she loaned money to might have had, uh, less than desirable uses for it. She and I both don’t want to deny someone help they might actually need, and my thought was to offer to pay a bill or buy groceries or gas. If that’s what they really need, they’ll be appreciative, but if the money’s going elsewhere, well…
  4. Which sides of the fine lines between caution and cowardice, and between courage and foolhardiness do you tend toward? I do think my caution can lean towards cowardice, but the same things that make that happen make me tend towards courage as opposed to foolhardiness. But I also think I have a strong sense of where my comfort zone is and the difference between creeping out of it versus playing it super safe or even being reckless.
  5. Tasked with drawing a literal fine line, what is your writing utensil of choice? A very sharp pencil.

From Friday 5.

2 responses to “Friday 5: Ax + By = C”

  1. What are we calling the lists of things we want to do once Covid is actually in the rear view mirror? Bucket list seems grim. Anyway, I really want to go back to concerts again. I used to gripe about the cost and crowds but I don’t care anymore.

    1. Me too. When the world is safer I swear I’m going to every show no matter what it is for the next few months. If we ever get tehre.

Leave a comment