Friday 5: The Work of the Child

  1. What musical instruments have you played? I dabbled in piano as a kid, but I wanted a guitar really badly as a teenager and got one for Christmas one year. I haven’t played in an offensively long time, and it’s one of those things that’s perpetually on my list of New Year’s resolutions.
  2. When do you play with your food? If anything, when I’m really full, I start poking at it.
  3. What’s your favorite stage play? I think it has to be The Crucible. I know people like to make fun of community theater, but years ago, a friend of a friend got a job at my workplace and we were hanging out a lot at the time, and she got a role in The Crucible in a theater about an hour from where I live that I went to see. If I remember right, my husband, who was just my boyfriend at the time, was working night shift, so my brother went with me. I was already familiar with it because it’s kind of a high-school-English staple, plus I think I might’ve seen our mutual friend in it at some point, but what made this one cool was it was a theater in the round. And I remember being really impressed by the cast. Like, there was a part where the girls were pretending to be in a sort of trance, and I’m telling you, they gave me chills.
  4. What games do you play on your phone? Every night before I go to bed, I play Wordscapes, which is kind of like part scramble, part crossword. The company makes another one I like a lot whose name I can’t remember that’s more of a word search.
  5. When did you recently play it by ear? Most of the time? I hate to be one of those parents that’s like, “Life with a toddler, LOL!” but you do have to have a certain degree of flexibility. So when we’re visiting family on the weekends, when we say we’ll be over at a certain time, that can get thrown off. We’re not gonna be super late, but texts that say, “We got a late start because Charlie’s diaper leaked and he needed a bath,” are not uncommon.

From Friday 5.

2 responses to “Friday 5: The Work of the Child”

  1. The Crucible is so good. I’ve often wished I could perform in it. Have you seen the 1996 film? It got mixed reviews but I rather liked it.

    1. I remember seeing at least clips of it, but I’m not sure I’ve ever seen the whole thing!

Leave a comment