Friday 5: Engine Engine Number 9

  1. What are your primary considerations as you decide what to wear on a typical day? Weather and where I’m going. How much do I want to prioritize function and how much do I want to prioritize style or combine the two?
  2. When did you have to select one person over others, much to others’ disappointment? At the beginning of the year, my workplace had a pretty brutal round of layoffs, and a team of four of us in charge of some small-scale work on tight deadlines was whacked in half. The two of us left were asked to choose two people to replace the ones who had been fired. I don’t know that others in the department knew the choice was up to us or that anyone was disappointed, but I would imagine that some people would welcome the added responsibility.
  3. When have you recently chosen the least unpleasant of unpleasant options? Does strategically scheduling my COVID booster count? I had a rough reaction to my second dose and am counting on the booster being similar, so when I scheduled it, I assumed I’d need a day in bed.
  4. In a bookstore, in a restaurant, in a gift shop, or wherever, how do you feel about having lots and lots and lots of choices? With books specifically, I’m kind of over browsing–I think it’s a byproduct of having stacked shelves, a large to-read list, and very little discernment with my library picks. I don’t mind having lots of options because lately, I’m usually zeroing in on something. With other types of shopping, I don’t mind it so much, and restaurant menus can depend. I don’t want to feel like I’ll die before I get to try everything, but I don’t want to be limited to the same few dishes very single time, especially as a vegetarian.
  5. What are some things you wish you didn’t have to make choices regularly about? This is such a meme-y, millennial thing to say, but what to eat every day! If I ever get rich, the first thing I’m doing is hiring a private chef.

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment