Friday 5: Do You Feel a Draft?

  1. Where do you frequently go for a breath of fresh air? My yard! We have a nice backyard with a deck and we take my son back there to play a lot, and it’s nice to just sit and enjoy some fresh air. We eat out there occasionally.
  2. In what way are you running against the wind? I have a hard time keeping up with some of my writing deadlines, which sucks but isn’t a huge deal–editorial staff is great. But I feel bad about it, and it tends to snowball, where at first I’m a day or two behind on one article and next thing I know all of them are late.
  3. What item on your to-do list this weekend do you expect to be a breeze? Laundry. I know people hate it, but you put it in a machine and it’s done.
  4. What would you like to have completed by the end of August? When I have time, I’ve been going back through my published writing (aside from articles and things) and organizing it into a manuscript or, more likely, separate manuscripts based on subject matter, like creative nonfiction about motherhood versus other personal essays. I don’t think I have anything book-length, but I’d like to start working towards putting something together to take to an agent and/or publisher.
  5. What recent events in your life are worthiest of trumpeting? Collider pays out bonuses for articles that get over 100,000 hits within the first 30 of publication, and I got that bonus!

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment