Friday 5: Career Day

  1. What is an ideal career for someone who’s your exact opposite? Probably something dealing with people or something in the sciences.
  2. What do most people not know about your job? So, job-wise, here’s where I am: I’m a stay-at-home mom during the day, and in the evening, I work as an independent contractor for a closed-captioning company or I do freelance writing, sometimes both as time allows. I don’t think there’s much to be said about life as a stay-at-home mom that people don’t already know, except to say that I like it more than most seem to. The same with freelance writing, actually. The captioning business is the one that probably has a lot people don’t know about, starting with it’s more complicated than it seems.
  3. Which stereotypes about people in your job are pretty close to accurate? I feel like stereotypes about stay-at-home moms are kind of all over the place, so I’m not really sure. Stereotypes about freelancing income are pretty accurate. I’m not sure if there are stereotypes about captioning jobs because it’s a small business, but if you’re assuming many of us are introverts, that would be very accurate.
  4. Which movie or TV series has a pretty good portrayal of your job? I don’t know that I’ve seen a portrayal of stay-at-home moms or freelancing that has been accurate, and I haven’t seen captioning at all. However! There’s a novel by a local writer that has a character who works for a subtitling company, and the longstanding theory/rumor is that he’s a former employee.
  5. Which wild animal would be best suited to doing your job? I mean, I live with two cats and they seem to handle the kid just fine, and they love walking on keyboards, so…

From Friday 5.

One response to “Friday 5: Career Day”

Leave a comment