Friday 5: Until It Hurts

  1. Which charitable organizations do you think do especially meaningful work? Honestly, there are so many that it’s hard to say, and I know more about the ones that people advice you not to donate to. But I’ll say one that’s on my radar is the Dear Jack Foundation–it was started by musician Andrew McMahon, and as a fan of his for most of my life now, I’m well-aware of it. They work with adolescents and young adults diagnosed with cancer, as McMahon himself was diagnosed with leukemia in his early 20s.
  2. When has someone recently appreciated your giving them your time? So, about 8-ish Tuesday morning, my phone rings. I was trying to sleep in some after my kid got up way early and I bribed him with YouTube to try and buy myself some time. It’s my youngest sister-in-law and her fiancee, asking if I could come hang with said sister-in-law for a little bit, as she’d been in a minor car accident and her fiancee didn’t want her by herself all day. So I got showered, packed up the kid and hung out with her for a few hours, took her Starbucks, and she thanked me for keeping her company for the day.
  3. When have you asked someone to give you a little space? Honestly, I ask my husband for space, physically speaking, kind of a lot–he’s much more touchy than I am, and sometimes, especially in bed and especially if I’m actively trying to sleep, I need my personal space.
  4. What do you simply not give a darn about, despite its mattering to your friends or relatives? This is a trivial one, but the lottery. Every time the Powerball balloons, my mom and brother make it a point to play, and I just think the odds are so bad that it’s not worth it. That said, if one of them wins, am I gonna be first in line asking for a cut? You bet!
  5. What are you close to giving up on? Nothing!

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment