Friday 5: On the Subway Walls

  1. Which words do you use too frequently? Any and all cuss words, especially considering I have a three-year-old with a speech delay who’s finally adding words to his vocabulary.
  2. Which words do you use not enough? You know, I wish that when I’d learn a new word, I’d think to try to use it to remember it.
  3. Which words have you recently learned? See above.
  4. Which words do you love to hear? Anything nice!
  5. Which new slang terms do you especially like or dislike? Generally, I don’t particularly like or dislike any–I tend to think new slang is fun, and I don’t have any strong feelings. The closest I’ve come is I get really frustrated with things like therapy-speak, like how in certain corners of the Internet (I’m looking at you, Reddit), everyone is a toxic abuser and every negative interaction is gaslighting. Once the Internet gets its hands on a new word, it overuses it, and it almost always uses it wrong.

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment