Friday 5: Lessons

What were your high school teachers wrong about? Ooh, I'm not sure. I don't remember anything specific that's since be debunked or proven wrong. I guess I'd say what college is like–there's a lot of, "When you get to college, it won't be like this," but in my experience, most professors were super accommodating and wanted to succeed and were willing to help if you were struggling.
  • Which high school subject (or specific lesson) turned out to be more useful than you expected? I had a comp class that taught the basics of essay writing: thesis statement, supporting paragraphs, etc., and it was surprising how many classmates in college never had that foundation. My best friend from high school said she basically taught it to her classmates.
  • From which high school courses do you remember most and least? I remember the least of chemistry and higher-level math classes like pre-calc, although if you gave me a quick refresher on the math, I could probably still do it. I probably remember the most English. Now ask me what my major in college was and what I do for a living.
  • How many of your high school classmates are you still in touch with? My best friend is for high school, and I have about five other friends I talk to and hang out with, then a handful that I don’t talk to or see often but get invited to things like bigger holiday parties or stop and chat if I see them out and about–and some of them from both groups go back to middle school yet. And then there’s the usual classmates on Facebook, Instagram, and other social media that I don’t talk to, necessarily, but occasionally interact with.
  • Which specific songs bring you back to specific memories of high school?
  • We used to request “Sandstorm” at every dance, and, in a tradition I’m fairly certain me and my friend Marion started, “Bohemian Rhapsody,” and we’d all make a big circle with our arms around each other and sing along. Early-2000s pop punk and emo will probably always remind me of high school, too.

    From Friday 5.

    Leave a comment