Friday 5: Late Again

  1. When did you last miss a scheduled appointment? I’ve never actually missed one in the sense that I was a no-call, no-show, but I’ve canceled a few hair appointments over the last several months because money was tight and getting my hair dyed wasn’t the responsible thing to do.
  2. What’s usually the reason you’re late for something? Just who I am as a person. Also, wrangling a three-year-old.
  3. What have you recently finished well in advance of a due date or deadline? I had an essay pitch accepted to an online publication and was given a deadline for like three weeks later, and I pretty much already had the thing finished. Typically, you pitch, then write, but if I have an idea, I have to at least chip away at it while it’s fresh and floating around. So sometimes I’m pitching a publication/editor and actually already have a finished product.
  4. In your daily life, what strategies do you use for not being in a hurry? One could argue I don’t have any. If all three of us are going somewhere, as opposed to me on my own with my son during the week, I delegate as much as I can to my husband, like getting the kid dressed, making sure the diaper bag is stocked, etc. Sometimes, if I know it’ll save me a hot minute, I leave the diaper bag in my car overnight–there’s not really a reason to bring it inside every single time, at least this time of year. As we head into winter, if it gets cold enough, wipes will freeze. Ask me how I know.
  5. What are you waiting for? More free time.

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment