Friday 5: Said It Really Loud, Said It on the Air

  1. Where do you go when this old world starts getting you down, and people are just too much for you to face? Home, to my husband and kid, and I probably fire up a message to my best friend.
  2. Where do words flow out like endless rain into a paper cup? I do most of my writing in my bed. I have an office, but my tiny desk is occupied by my work computer and there’s no room for even a laptop. Although I don’t think I’d enjoy writing at a desk anyway–I am all of those comics about sitting at a desk in odd positions.
  3. Where have you found yourself searching, searching for shelter again and again? Similar to the first question, my husband is for sure my shelter. I know he’ll always have my back and support me. And in some ways, my son, in that I love him fully and truly unconditionally and a hug from him can cure anything, but I’m also a firm believer in keeping adult problems away from kids and that it’s not on them to be emotional support for their parents–so I’ll turn to him for a hug and to do something to make me life and save the big stuff for my husband.
  4. Where can you smell the sea and feel the sky, and let your soul and spirit fly? Any beach. If there’s sand and water, I’m happy and calm. But the outdoors in general–the mountains, on a river, hell, even in my own backyard.
  5. Where can you swing it; where can you move it; where can you really start to groove it? Anywhere I want, really, but the best is when Dancing Queen, a local cover band, is playing. As one might infer from their name, they focus on pop and dance hits from about the ’60s through the ’80s, but they throw in some newer songs, too. I think they probably added “Uptown Funk” to their set the second that song came out. They’re a lot of fun, and they have a decent following of people who like to just go out dancing when they play.

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment