Friday 5: On the Right Tracks

  1. Which obscure song is better than well-known songs by the same artist? Honestly, I think most albums by big artists have at least one or two amazing songs that were never released as singles and therefore don’t get the same attention.One of my favorites is “Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding” by Elton John. It’s the opening track on Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, and I think it’s one of his best. I absolutely love that song. He plays it live, but most people don’t recognize it–and those of us that do know it’s coming. So while most people sit down and wait for the next hit, there’s a handful of us on our feet losing our damn minds. Another one on my mind, thanks to iTunes shuffles playing it at this very moment–“Friend or Foe” by Adam Ant. It’s everything that makes a classic Adam Ant, it just isn’t “Stand and Deliver.” Although to be fair, “Stand and Deliver” is the better song in this case. Oh! And “Janine” by David Bowie. One of my favorites of his and one that’s not as well-known. And also “The Visitors” by ABBA. Oh, and probably “Closedown” by The Cure, and also “Shake Dog Shake,” which was incredible live. And also “What Lovers Do” by Maroon 5, because hear me out–it’s not one of their more well-known hits, but it’s catchy as hell and is the perfect summer bop. I also don’t know how much this counts, but whenever I see Andrew McMahon live, I always love it when he pulls out old Something Corporate songs, and you can always tell which of us knew every word to “Punk Rock Princess” at 14.
  2. What are some no-skip albums, albums whose tracks are all great to listen to? The Cure’s Disintegration. AFI’s Sing the Sorrow. Amanda Palmer’s Theatre Is Evil.
  3. Which album didn’t do it for you at first, but became a favorite after repeated listens? I have two that aren’t exactly what this question is asking for but come close. The Beach Boys’ Pet Sounds is regarded as a masterpiece, but I never really got it. So many of its songs get plenty of radio play, so I grew up hearing them and liked them but didn’t get the hype. But then my husband bought a copy of Pet Sounds, and hearing it in its entirety helped, but what really made it click for me was “I’m Waiting for the Day” and “Sloop John B.” I adore both of those songs and had never heard either of them before, so it was a moment of, “Holy shit, this is incredible,” for me. The second is The Killers’ Sam’s Town. It was their second album, and as we all know, Hot Fuss was amazing. I remember being so excited for Sam’s Town and then being disappointed–Hot Fuss had been heavy on the synth, and Sam’s Town dialed that back a bit and put guitars in its place. But not only did it grow on me, but that album is amazing, too. I mean, just look at the singles–“When You Were’ Young,” “Read My Mind,” “Bones,” and that’s not even touching the rest of the album.
  4. Which album is best listened to at night? Ooh, I’m not sure! I am very much not the type of person who chooses what I listen to according to moods or timing or anything like that. To help me with this, I turned to iTunes but kept it on shuffle, and nothing is striking me as great night listening specifically.
  5. Which album is best listened to in a car? Honestly, for me, car music isn’t about specific albums so much as a vibe. I like something I can sing along to, typically fast rather than slow, but a good belt-your-lungs-out moment is always welcome. I like songs that make you want to drive fast and are enhanced by good company, a warm, sunny day, and the windows down. Let me tell you, I cannot wait until my son is old enough to request car music and sing along with us.

From Friday 5.

Leave a comment